50 Year Celebration

50 years of existence searching for church unity

On the 11 – 13 September 2018 the Church Unity Commission celebrated 50 years of its existence at St Wilfrid’s Anglican Church in Hatfield Pretoria.

This was an opportunity to reflect on the achievements and challenges of the past, review the present challenges with special focus on theological education and shape a way forward as the member churches continue the search for church unity.  It was an auspicious occasion where speakers encouraged for a continued search for unity and highlighting current opportunities for the church to express unity. The celebrations were graced with speakers who were actively involved in the past such as Rev Dr Cragg and Rev Prof John de Gruchy; there were also those who are passionate with ecumenism and active in academics such as Rev Mzwandile Molo, Rev Paul Verryn, Rev Keith Griffiths, Rev Dr Bruce Theron, Rev Prof Barney Pityana, Dr Nontando Hadebe, Dr Ishmael Noko and Rev Prof Jerry Pillay.  We thank God for this occasion as we continue to find ways to express church unity in a context of immense diversity.


Office of the Secretary General: Rev KM Sikawu Makubalo

021 712 8609 (8am -1pm) | sg@churchunitycommission.org

16 Lowlands Ave, Tokai, 7945